About us

The Trust includes the eleven special schools in Devon - Atkinson, Barley Lane, Bidwell Brook, Ellen Tinkham, Lampard, Marland, Mill Water, Oaklands Park, Pathfield, Ratcliffe and Southbrook.  In addition to Atkinson, the other Partners are Devon County Council and the Co-Operative College.

The Trust was set up to....

advance the education, care and wellbeing of the pupils at the Schools, to advance the education of other members of the community, and otherwise to benefit the community… It is intended that the curriculum and ethos of the Schools will place an emphasis on, and include a commitment to students learning about, the Co-operative values of self-help, self-responsibility, democracy, equality, equity, solidarity, honesty, openness, social responsibility and caring for others with the aim of encouraging all students to become better citizens, not only while they are students but during the rest of their lives.

The Trust has a focus on raising standards of attainment, improving achievement and outcomes for children and young people, and working with our wider community to improve community cohesion.  However, the overall responsibility for any school’s performance continues to lie with that school’s Governing Board.

The SENtient Trust is a Company Limited by Guarantee. The Company Registration number is 08159859.

The Registered Address is Ellen Tinkham School, Hollow Lane, Pinhoe, Exeter EX1 3RW.

The SENtient Trust is also a registered charity. The Charity Number is 1156708.